The Stillness of New Year’s Morning

I think the still quiet on the morning of New Year’s day is something I feel rather than hear. I lay in bed, the dog snoring at my side, my partner buried under the covers, the cat having snuck into the middle of the bed purring away happily, and no matter what the weather or the reality of the day…it feels still, calm, thoughtful.

Perhaps it is, as a feeling often is, just my own mind imposing itself on the world. I’m sure, in reality the world is anything but still…everywhere there are people making breakfast, wondering what they did last night. There are parents busy nursing brutal hangovers whilst trying to deposit young children in front of various films in a vain effort to have just a moments peace. There are those who refused the drink and wake refreshed to go out walking at 6am and shout a “Happy New Year” to others in a most Victorian tv-movie-type way. And all around the world there are far less happy events as wars continue to be fought, people continue to live in fear of the one they live with, and abuse of each other, of other animals and of the planet rages polluting our souls and disgracing the name of humanity.

Perhaps its just me, but I don’t think I am that special and unusual to be unique in this…but on the first day of the New Year I cant help but feel a little thoughtful, a little hopeful that this year might be better than those which have come before…not just for me, but for all of us. I feel a little wistful, a little excited and simultaneously a little downcast, thinking on what might have been but never was…

Perhaps the day feels still to me because it is a pause before we enter the year, a moment to draw breath before we leap into our new plans and hopes and dreams. On the first day of the New Year there is nothing which has failed, no dreams which have been broken…there is hope for all resolutions and rejuvenation.

So perhaps it is fitting that today I signed up to assign my random thoughts to this blog. Fitting that I decided to this year plunge into the waters of self-publishing and see if others might love what I love to write about.

In the stillness of possibility I lay, hoping that this year I will have the courage of spirit to bring my ambitions to life.

To all of you I wish a happy new year. To all of you I wish for a moment of stillness on this first day of the year to consider what you want it to bring you; peace, happiness, sex, friendship, love, safety, charity, self-belief, recognition…whatever it is and whatever your dreams I hope this is a good year for you.

Leave a Reply

